Deuteronomy 14:8

Hebrew Bible

6 You may eat any animal that has hooves divided into two parts and that chews the cud. 7 However, you may not eat the following animals among those that chew the cud or those that have divided hooves: the camel, the hare, and the rock badger. (Although they chew the cud, they do not have divided hooves and are therefore ritually impure to you.) 8 Also, the pig is ritually impure to you; though it has divided hooves, it does not chew the cud. You may not eat their meat or even touch their remains. 9 These you may eat from among water creatures: anything with fins and scales you may eat, 10 but whatever does not have fins and scales you may not eat; it is ritually impure to you.

LXX Deuteronomy 14:8


6 Every beast that divides the hoofs, and makes claws of two divisions, and that chews the cud among beasts, these ye shall eat. 7 And these ye shall not eat of them that chew the cud, and of those that divide the hoofs, and make distinct claws; the camel, and the hare, and the rabbit; because they chew the cud, and do not divide the hoof, these are unclean to you. 8 And as for the swine, because he divides the hoof, and makes claws of the hoof, yet he chews not the cud, he is unclean to you; ye shall not eat of their flesh, ye shall not touch their dead bodies. 9 And these ye shall eat of all that are in the water, ye shall eat all that have fins and scales. 10 And all that have not fins and scales ye shall not eat; they are unclean to you.

 Notes and References

No references currently available.

If you have any suggestions for this page, please contact us.

 User Comments

Do you have questions or comments about these texts? Please submit them here.